Life with a Mental Disability in Tabora

written 12/28

As promised, I have kept my eyes out to see how this culture treats those with disabilities and the role it has is society. Here are a number of interactions I have seen with one child that I have spent quite a bit of time with recently.

We know three young people with mental disabilities: Bano, Amoni, and Ji-Baba…

post continues at http://lifeasajamie.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/life-with-a-mental-disability-in-tabora/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life with a Mental Disability in Tabora

  1. I like reading about your observations and, as usual, I appreciate your open-mindedness. To me, how people treat others with disabilities is quite similar to how people treat other people. I think that people meet the expectations of others. Reminds me of a former neighbor who adopted a young child with cerebral palsy. The doctors told her that the child would not develop beyond the one year-old level. The loving woman treated the child as she treated her other children. The child’s physical and mental abilities developed beyond the diagnosis of the doctors. You know what I mean?

  2. beth says:

    OMG this is very sad. I will hold him and you in my heart. I hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

