A Discussion of Failure

written 1/13

“Every one of us here is failing more than we ever have in our lives before.” –Sam Bonsey

One of the things (that I fell in love with through improv) that really attracted me to 2Seeds is the idea that failure is both expected and good in this work. Although I haven’t found this organization to celebrate failure as much as I was hoping, it’s still a very present part of what we talk about. When Sam said this during one of our recent meetings, I knew immediately that it was a statement that I wanted to remember.

As our project has progressed so incredibly slowly, Ashley and I have especially been confronted with this idea of failure. What if we leave and never get a project off the ground? What if we start another group that falls apart in the same way that the one from last year did?…

post continues at http://lifeasajamie.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/a-discussion-of-failure/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Discussion of Failure

  1. Jean Reynolds says:

    Your story about the garden reminds me of the Barbara Kingsolver’s “Poisonwood Bible.” Have you read it? The man in the story starts a garden and all of the locals try to tell him using various ways – some more subtle than others – that he needs to design it a different way for it to flourish in their climate. He ignores their advice and the garden washes out with every rainstorm. Best of luck building the fence!

  2. Ana L Rocha says:

    This is a great blog post that I imagine was not an easy one to write and that carries feeling and truth.

  3. I didn’t read this blog until now, so my response may be a little outdated. Nevertheless, here is my response: I googled for failure quotes. I didn’t find the one in my mind, which reminds me that the successful people first experience many failures. Here are some appropriate quotes I did find:

    “I didn’t fail the test, I just found 100 ways to do it wrong.”
    ― Benjamin Franklin

    “Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.”
    ― Robert F. Kennedy

    “Never confuse a single defeat with a final defeat.”
    ― F. Scott Fitzgerald

    “Of course motivation is not permanent. But then, neither is bathing; but it is something you should do on a regular basis.”
    ― Zig Ziglar, Raising Positive Kids in a Negative World

    “Success is the doing, not the getting; in the trying, not the triumph. Success is a personal standard, reaching for the highest that is in us, becoming all that we can be. If we do our best, we are a success.”
    ― Zig Ziglar

    Jamie, you seem to know all this (from what I read in your blog), so it seems you are successful in your project. You see what hasn’t worked. You learn from what hasn’t worked to find another way. You haven’t let supposed failures stop you. You consider different aspects of the project and ways to achieve your goal, which is to assist Taborans to behave in ways that will better their nutrition. Right?

    You see that you and Ashley have different ways of thinking and doing. You work at making that work, though it’s not easy. Perhaps this is one of the aspects of the project. I don’t know. I’m not there. You are and it seems you’re doing a great job.

Leave a Reply

