The Universality of Childhood

Most of you that know me well, or have been to any sort of camp with me, know how much I love children. One of the fascinating things about getting to live in such a different place is that I’m learning a lot about the universality of different ages. I grew up in a house with parenting books that were titled “How to Parent Your 4-year Old,” “How to Parent Your 5-year Old,” and on and on for every year. This always annoyed me, because I am an individual and these books seemed to reduce my actions and feeling to just being a product of my age. I know that despite my feelings about them, these books proved very useful for my parents and now, getting to see children in a completely different culture, I am beginning to understand why.

I have never before this year spent so much time around babies and it’s been fascinating to watch the babies we know grow up over the last five months…

post continues at http://lifeasajamie.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/the-universality-of-childhood/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Universality of Childhood

  1. In my experience, US parenting books are based on children’s developmental biology and psychology, which may be different in other cultures. I don’t know because of my limited experience of other cultures. I have only my reading upon which to reflect, whereas you have firsthand experience. You seem to be learning much about Taborans and how they progress. I admire your willingness to experience whatever happens.

  2. Teri says:

    Very nicely written. The thought of a looping water path made me smile.

Leave a Reply

