Returning to Tabora

written 2/25

Tomorrow afternoon I should be back to my life in Tabora and I’m just not sure how to feel about it. I can’t say that I’ve missed it, as I’ve known that I would be returning shortly and seeing my best friends has been so wonderful. However, I can say for certain that in terms of comforts I am really not looking forward to returning. I’ve so enjoyed having nice beds, padded chairs, air conditioning, and, most of all, warm showers. It’s been really refreshing to get to have all of these and I feel normal again. In a small part this dread of returning to my comfort-less life in Tabora is making me realize how grateful I am that all of these are a normal part of my daily life. Although I can very easily live without all of these, this week has shown me how valuable these things are and how much easier it is for me to be happy when I can be surrounded by these luxuries…

post continues at http://lifeasajamie.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/returning-to-tabora/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Returning to Tabora

  1. Jean Reynolds says:

    I resist returning even to my comfortable life after a vacation, and rarely return with enthusiasm for my usual activities, even though I normally enjoy them. I don’t think that feeling reflects on your lack of commitment to your work now.

    I enjoy your posts! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Like Jean Reynolds, I, too, resist returning to my comfortable life after a splendid vacation. Other times I’m happy to return to the known comfort of my home. I don’t have a long-time experience of the hardships you have experienced and that the Taborans always live. I’m so pleased that you mindfully examine your experience and extract the truths for you. Now I’m wondering what caused your stomach pains. Do you continue to experience stomach pains?

  3. Bea Siegel says:

    Jamie,
    I feel like a member of a cheering section counting down the months, weeks, days until you can come home. A year is a long time to be away from your normal life, particularly because of the physical differences of food, sanitation, etc. So all you can do is hang in there and take whatever benefits you can from the Tabora experience. I hope the visit with your Mom and Dad help physically and psychologically.
    Lots of love from
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

